Photography is fun!… well, sometimes

This week was a pretty eye-opening week for me when it comes to photography; I realized that sometimes photography can feel like a pretty hard task.

This past weekend I was asked to shoot a prospective-student event on my college’s campus. I readily agreed, but when I showed up the morning of the event, I was very surprised. I found myself in a room of (excuse my language) old people. Normally, this would not phase me at all, but when the director of the event told me it was a prospective student event, she forgot to mention that it was for the graduate studies offered here.

Now, there is absolutely nothing wrong with this, but as a photographer, it is nice to know exactly what the shoot is ahead of time in order to properly prepare. Luckily, this was just a minor setback for the day, and I was ready to start shooting!

After taking pictures of some of the breakout groups in classrooms, I was asked to go on a tour, first around campus and then out into Nashville. I was not going to be able to stay the whole day, so I asked if I could come to the first few stops to take pictures. After about 30 minutes of  following around a campus shuttle, I realized they had decided to do the tour from the inside of the bus. I had nothing to photograph.

screen-shot-2017-03-02-at-10-17-51-am

(Well, I decided to take a picture of the bus at a red light, but that was just for fun.)

Now, please note that I do not say any of this in order to complain. My intentions are just to portray a learning experience I had: sometimes photography isn’t a fun or easy thing to do, but you have to work through your circumstances. Although the pictures I took of this event were simple and not the type I’ll be adding to my portfolio, I did learn that there are times where you have to work with what you’re given.

As I look ahead at future events, I ask myself (and challenge you to do the same), “How can you better prepare for difficult settings?”

3 thoughts on “Photography is fun!… well, sometimes

  1. Wow that must’ve been a real pain in the butt. Sometimes life happens that way and it really tests our patience. However, my advice is to just learn to accept and be patient with every scenario given to you. It can be hard, but the more you are open to new, unexpected things, the easier it gets. Cool blog!!

    Like

  2. I love photography but I agree that sometimes it can be a awkward and abrupt experience. It’s always nice to know exactly what you are getting into but sometimes not knowing forces you to get out of your comfort zone, which I am really bad at. This is a really good topic to talk about because I am sure a lot of fellow photographers can relate.

    Like

Leave a Reply

