It’s time to take a break!

It’s time to take a break: spring break and rule breaking! This week I want to take a step back from the rules and guidelines of photography and focus on something more surface level: beauty. 

This past week was spring break at my school, and I flew to Malibu, California, to see my best friend at Pepperdine. I got to go to Los Angeles, Hollywood, Santa Monica, Beverly Hills and so many other fun places to experience the Californian culture. Not only did I experience the differences in culture, but I also got to see a complete change of scenery. Now, don’t get me wrong, I am in love with the rolling hills of Tennessee, but seeing the sandy beaches surrounded by the powerful mountain ranges in Malibu got my eyes gleaming.  

Naturally, seeing the beauty of a strange land, I pulled out my camera. And let me tell you, it was FUN. Sometimes I find myself getting caught up in the “do’s and don’ts” of photography that it is so easy to forget how much fun it really is to capture beautiful and silly moments.

 

Now, I know these photos aren’t super professional photos that you would see on the cover of a magazine or the front page of your local paper, but they are fun memories that will last a lifetime. They tell such a strong narrative of my time in Malibu, and they are still beautiful pictures of beautiful moments. So, next time you are shooting, remember to still capture the fun moments as well, because they can show so much beauty!

How do you plan to capture fun moments in a beautiful way?

2 thoughts on “It’s time to take a break!

  1. I lived in California forever and it is THE most beautiful place I’ve ever lived. I wanted to go to Pepperdine but I was called here and miss the different beauty California has to offer. I also agree that sometimes we just need to take pictures and not take forever doing so because that ruins the candid moment!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

